Denzil's occasional Blips

By denzilblount

Star trails (1st attempt - re-done!)

After deciding to attempt startrails at 10:40 pm, I backed myself into a corner a little as I had run out of time once I realise that my first attempt was going to be poor.

There are numerous problems with this image:

1) I didn't find a pole star to use as a centre for rotation in my image
2) I didn't go somewhere rural to escape light pollution
3) I only took 38 minutes worth of images
4) I didn't realise that the free software that I planned to use only allowed me to stack images of 640 x 480 px.

Anyway, I have stayed up as I have been promised some aurora borealis action this evening and I only did the star trails to pass some time while I waited.

Very busy day at work tomorrow. Hope I don't regret staying up so late.

Off out into the wild now. Wish me luck. I hope that the bogey man doesn't get me :-(

I have recreated my startrails image from the individual captures using a different application as used in Sparkey's Blip. This is a massive improvement on the previous image stack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.