Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Kettle hole

There is a new walking track from the 'new' road at Lake Heron (Ashburton Lakes) to a large kettle hole. This is a depression, formed when the glacier retreated, that is sometimes filled with water, and sometimes dry. Kettle holes usually have unusual vegetation, including rare plants, and associated insects. There is a sign telling visitors about the feature. More information on kettle holes can be found here. The plants in the foreground are speargrass, Aciphylla aura.

I failed on the tripod image today, as I decided not to take the tripod on our walk up Mt Barossa. Just as well, since I dropped my sunglasses, so we had to climb it twice. I didn't use it for the kettle hole shots either, but hope you find it interesting anyway.

PS Yesterday's image was obtained by zooming while the shutter was open on our flower-patterned duvet cover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.