Sneinton Market

Not my usual 'manor', Sneinton Market seems a lot more run-down than when I was last here which is a shame as it's a fabulous location that really should be bustling like Nottingham's own version of Camden Market. Took loads of photos that I didn't feel really captured the place but when I got home there were actually quite a few I liked - I'll definitely go back again soon...!

Been catching up with the back catalogue of Leyland Kirby, the feller behind my album of 2013, in some of his various guises. His recordings as The Caretaker, presumably electronically treated old 78's, scratchy and ghostly, are curiously moving, whilst the stuff he releases under his own name, backgrounded by the same aural scuffings, adds lush synths and echoing, romantic piano (shades of Nyman and Badalamenti.) It all seems to be about memory and, so far, it's all great. I think I might be ready to dive into his 3CD 'The Future Is No Longer What It was' tomorrow. that said, I've been cutting it with Bikini Kill for heightened contrast...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.