Thatcher's Britain

Well one tiny part of it today just outside Amesbury on the road that follows the Avon towards the Woodfords. I was heading down to the West Country and diverted to look at the river. I've fished here often. Anyone who knows this road must have noticed the distinctive man and woman decorations on the house here that's called The Fighting Cocks. I'm not sure whether that has anything to do with the owners, one of whom I met. A formidable lady she seemed too. I'd be in her corner!

I'm first to arrive in Devon for a shoot tomorrow. Some of them - the Oxford set - have been shooting today near Henley. I don't know how they fit it all in. I can hear the pheasants outside clucking away. Perhaps they're telling each other it's too quiet.

I've been thinning out quite a large collection of management books from my shelves. Some 200 went to Surrey University Library today. I'm glad to see the back of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.