Sisters

I took this photo a while ago, it's of my mum on the right and her big sister on the left. Today I took my mum to her big sisters funeral. It hasn't been a good few weeks, mum has been unwell in hospital over Christmas and new year and it has been touch and go if she would actually make it to say her goodbyes.

It has been a difficult day as funerals are, all the more poignant because mum, as the baby of the family is the only one left. She does have a number of cousins of a similar age who all fussed over her today.

Family.....I love mine, I know I am lucky that I am part of a family that looks out and cares for one another. I'm blessed to have three lovely sisters and lots of lovely nieces. I have lots of cousins that I only see occasionally but because of the wonder of the internet I can keep I touch with on Facebook, and it goes without saying I have my marvellous hubby who has done all the driving for this visit up north and supported me over the last couple of weeks, my beautiful daughters and my lovely young grandson. I know that even though I live at the other end of the country my sisters, nieces, cousins and aunts will all be there to help mum as and when she needs it.

It has been a sad occasion, saying goodnight and god bless to my aunty but it has also been lovely to catch up with my mum's cousins, my cousins and their children face to face, to share a tear and a hug. Love you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.