Reporting In

After four days of exercise classes (not Tuesday, as we had haircuts -- much shorter, in my case), I've looked at my reflection in a mirrored wall, moving more or less to the beat of the music, for four hours this week.

That's probably more time than I've looked at myself in a full-length mirror over the course of the past 40 years.

I find it very interesting to see what my body is doing, and to make changes, when I can. (I have mild scoliosis, so there are limits to just how much bilateral symmetry I can maintain.) It's also quite clear to me that one of the main reasons why I enjoy my "Active Older Adult" classes at the Y is the music -- 40's swing/big band and rock and roll from the 60's and early 70's (I have no idea what was popular after that). Rhythm makes a difference!

Yesterday's Ageless Fitness class was more strenuous than the Silver Sneakers Circuit (SSC) classes I've done off and on for several years, and I had some soreness afterward, but felt fine this morning and completed the whole SSC class without any problem.

I've signed up for the Fairhaven Runners & Walkers store 30-Day Challenge, which begins tomorrow, intended to help folks who aren't regular exercisers make moving their bodies for at least 30 minutes a day a habit. With classes at the Y four days a week and yoga on Wednesday, that means I only have to figure out some activity for the weekends. Walking is the likely choice, but heavy rain and wind is forecast for this weekend, so I may end up doing yoga in our living room.

(I promise not to write about exercising all the time -- there are a couple of "newsy" blips in the queue.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.