Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Golf in the desert

This AM I went for a walk on the golf course at my hotel in Phoenix. I always find it supremely odd that resorts create these golf courses in the middle of the desert. It just seems likes such a strange juxtaposition of lush fairways surrounded by cacti and sandy and dry soil. I cannot imagine what it took to create this and what it takes to maintain. It seems like a very inhospitable location for grass, but somehow they make it work.

I chose this shot because I liked the consistent circular pattern in the sand trap. All of the traps had the same pattern and it made me think that they have a worker whose job it is to create this pattern. (Perhaps they use a tractor?) Regardless, I struck me as odd and I thought it would make an interesting blip subject.

Finally, I never travel with my dSLR and so all shots from this work trip are with my Powershot G10. I really like this camera though miss the flexibility of my dSLR with multiple lenses


Post processing
Tweaked saturation and contrast in dpp.

Constructive criticism welcome

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.