Leith Hospital

We were just setting off for the weekly run to the supermarket when we received a text suggesting we meet a friend for coffee in Leith. Initial thoughts to meet at Mimi's were stymied as it was mobbed, and we were faced with a 20 minute wait for a table. Better coffee, and a more than adequate supply of cake-age opportunities, were provided by Relish on Commercial Street, where we always buy our coffee beans.

The quickest route to the Shore from our place is down King Street, past the Jubilee wing of the old Leith Hospital. As the Canmore site record notes, this wing was opened in 1897 to mark the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria. Definitely a #leithinstitution.

I'm supposed to have been working today, but what with a very sluggish start and then a diversion via Leith before we even got to the supermarket, it's tea time and I've still done nothing apart from cull a few emails from my inbox, sort out why my macmail wasn't sending emails from my work account (had to remove the account and put it back on again), and check my to do list, which is - of course - not getting any shorter. I still have to finish a few hang-over items from the old job, before getting on with the new one, which I nominally started on 1 January. I thought I was supposed to be a little less busy and hassled this year. Fat chance - at least not this month!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.