Where's the Water Gone?

The Photographer's Ephemeris (TPE) is a wonderful thing. Iff you're a landscaper you'll no doubt know about it but if you're not and you want to check where to catch the sunrise or sunset at any time of year and any place on Earth, Google it and be impressed.

It told me that the sun would be setting down the length of Trenchford reservoir tonight at about 4.30. Unfortunately it didn't tell me that the road to the part of the reservoirs I needed to get to was closed but never mind, we'll scootle back the way we came and take the next turn on the left. It's an interesting road and I made a note to myself not to come back that way in the dark. After a few more turns I was lost but I had a hunch that was contradicted by the signposts. It did get me to where I wanted to be just a few minutes before the sun set. Phew! As I came across the dam between the two reservoirs I noticed there was something missing. They'd let all the water out of the reservoir I wanted to photograph! What a bu**er!
Forunately someone had left a tap open down the side so I slipped through those orange barricades they put up and down the side of the reservoir and there seemed to be enough water to give me a reflection. So here it is, testimony that if the Photographer's Ephemeris says that's where the sunset's going to be, that's where it will be irrespective of anything else that might be going on in the world.

Thank you for all your good wishes to Paul and Ph0ebe on yesterday's blip. They've seen your comment, Phoebe's copied the link to her FaceBook page.

I wonder what will be happening in the new series of 'The Voice' which starts tonight. I enjoy the programme and like to follow the hopefuls on their journey but the funny thing is, I can't remember who won the last two series and can't say I've noticed what they've done since! Ah well.

Hope you've had a good day with the same lovely sunshine we've had.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.