Solitary

Thanks for all your own suggestions yesterday. I think you endorse the truth that tea is the simplest and best addiction there is - beside blipping, of course! But context is everything. When I'm on the continent I switch to coffee. And I never drink coca-cola, except when I'm col-bagging in the summer on the bike. On a stinking hot day, after a long climb up a mountain, an ice-cold coke is like the best tasting thing in the whole world. On a day-to-day basis, though, it has to be tea, and when I'm cycling at home and need to make a pit-stop then the toasted tea-cake is the perfect compliment. Plenty of carbs, the sultanas or raisins to give it some sweetness, and lashings of melted butter to help it slip down. The perfect restorative food.

I was out cycling today, the Grassington circuit again. I had intended to go a bit further but actually spent a bit too long in roadside fields with the camera, and got a bit cold in the process. The light was perfect for photography this afternoon. Even though I've done this route countless times I'm still able to find new photo opportunities. I'm always on the lookout for solitary trees but even though we are blessed here with loads of them, it's still not easy to find a perspective free of other trees or buildings or telegraph poles. I get quite excited when I spot a new one, as I did here today, especially when the light is so perfect. This shot was taken with just about the very last shaft of light before the sun descended behind Burnsall Fell on the other side of the valley. All the elements conspired to come together at this moment. I love these little gifts bestowed by the Blip Gods.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.