Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

When you're a Stranger

You would not believe how difficult it is to find a stranger. Okay, so it's not difficult to find a stranger, there are hundreds out there. But finding one to stop and ask to take their photograph, that's really really hard.

I thought I had it all planned out. I'd go to the Farmers Market, I'd find someone interesting and I'd approach them. That would have been fine if it wasn't January. The Market was about half its usual size and it was cold, really cold. No one was loitering (except our large group which made approaching someone nearly impossible), everyone was cold.

I could have taken a photo of one of the bartenders at the Hanging Bat, only by the definition of a stranger, they aren't, also I'd forever be known as that weird girl who took their photo.

I had a meeting in our office block, I'm bound to find someone there and they're all artists, they'd understand. Unfortunately the place was dead and by the time I came out it was too dark to stop anyone on the street.

Yes, a lot of this is excuses for my absolute terror at the thought of asking anyone.

After my meeting I headed to a friend's house for a Winter Barbecue. There I met a number of strangers. I asked a few but they were hesitant. Finally this lovely chap agreed.

So, this is my stranger. His name is Dave. Up until a couple of years ago, Dave had life ambitions, he wanted to qualify as an accountant, manage a team of people and get to a certain income level. Now he's achieved all that and doesn't know what to do with himself.

Thanks Dave for being great and letting me photograph you. Monday morning the camera will be off in the post to its next home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.