Gaia's Child

By maura143

NotaCrane

Spent most of the morning and early afternoon handling dogs for an Adoption Event. The good news…the dog I handled, Willy, was adopted even though he has 6 more weeks of Training ahead of him with the Alachua County Work Camp Inmate assigned to him. The bad news…I'm exhausted. Three hours with an untrained, young, large, strong dog is as good as any gym workout for me. All of the muscle groups are complaining! I was planning to blip a photo of Willy but never got a chance to get my camera out of the car.
Sooo…

Out in the back yard looking for a potential Blip Candidate when I happened to look up…Ok :) Turkey Vulture. Much maligned, very important scavenger that they are, this individual is part of a much larger Flock which migrated down from the North for the Winter. They roost in large dead pine trees or denuded oak trees. They are a common sight flying overhead or congregating in small groups over some delectable road kill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.