Lining out

The last of the syndicate days. There's only one let day and beaters day on the estate and that will be the season finished.

Both dogs are sound asleep. I pulled Meara out before lunch as she suddenly became very tired and is now hobbling. I've only been taking her out for a half day this year but she is really becoming an old lady. The sound of a distant gun sends her tail wagging in anticipation of a day out. Her nose and speed are as young as a puppies and she loves to work but, she puts too much energy into it. Sadly, this might be her last year out. It seems like yesterday that she was so tiny that she came out to the shoots in my pocket.

The sun put it's hat on for us. The bluebells are starting to sprout from the earth, the birds are all loved up and the buds on the beech trees are swelling. I expect it will freeze solid and snow next. Winter has still to come.

This was taken just as the sun had disappeared behind the hill behind me. I grabbed the camera when I brought the dog home. It's a shame I didn't take it in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.