Doremigirl

By Doremigirl

Sleep

11/365/2014

Today was a FULL day being a mom. Chauffeuring our son and looking for things he needed, prepping food for a midterm-studying daughter, and going out again with our son to finish what we started. I'm glad to have spent this time with him. He was very appreciative of my time.

When we came home, he stopped me from doing the dishes and he did them (Atta, boy!).
My daughter's doing such a good job of being on top of her work - we're just so proud of her (Atta, girl!).

Now, I'm ready for sleep :-)

For sound illustration for today, I'm going to tag Eric Whitacre's Sleep, a choral piece. You can read the lyrics on Charles Anthony Silverstri's webpage here.
The evening hangs beneath the moon,
A silver thread on darkened dune.
With closing eyes and resting head
I know that sleep is coming soon.


Silvestri is the poet who collaborated with Whitacre for this piece. It's a beautiful piece which I've had the pleasure of singing with thousands of people virtually for the Virtual Choir 2.0 project. There were over 2000 video entries from 58 countries. I can't even begin to understand how to edit and remix the sound of this project, but the result was just beautiful!
There is a link on Silvestri's page to watch the video. If you're really interested, listen to Whitacre's recording (Spotify link, I couldn't find a good YT) before you listen to the virtual choir.

What do you think?

Good night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.