My Attempts

By Bernydoll

Camellia

Today I took a good look round our garden to see what's happening. Surprisingly quite a lot of plants are already in bud, there's even a row of daffodils pushing their way up, but I suspect puppy Breesha will put a stop to them.
I'm very fond of this Camellia. My close friend Lynda gave it to me when my Mum died on 2nd January 1998. I know when you read that date it seems a long time, 16 years, but to me it seems like last week. When I planted the Camellia it didn't do very well but I left it where it was as someone told me it takes a while for them to acclimatise to their new position. For the next three years although it was lovely and green it never flowered. So I dug it up and move it to the front garden, which is very exposed, and it flowered the following year. Now it's about 6ft high and flowers profusely every year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.