The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Bank Vole - Slimbridge

It's been far too long!

I managed to get to Slimbridge today with my good friend Nigel.

The weather was glorious, and there was plenty to see! The year list has shot up to 67 species, and I got a loads of cracking photos, but this was the star of the day. I have only ever photographed one other mouse, so to get this Bank Vole was quite special. I named him Percy Veriance as it did take well over half an hour to get a handful of shots. (You can see them in my Flickr set here)

There were plenty of Pintails one mirror glass water, but we've done that before on here. The flooded fields had a couple of Cranes on them, which was a life tick for me. The final spectacle of the day was thousands upon thousands of corvids coming in to roost. The noise was incredible. They were joined by a thousand or so starlings in a small murmuration. Quite breathtaking!

It was a great day out with great company!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.