Walking in Paradise

By Wild_Goose

Places I have Worked (1)

Had my first paper round here at the age of 13. The small white door to the left was the paper shed where rounds were marked up and collected from. No computers in those days just a plastic sheet with slots for thin strips of card. Travelling some distance to school then meant I could only do an evening and Sunday round and the wage for the first week £1 for the evening an 50p on Sunday. Remember filling in as much as possible during the holidays. At the time the shop was owned by T. Dillon & Co later to become Dillons Newsagents. A number of these places will crop up in the future as I eventually got a job working as a shop manager.
Sadly the company no longer exists taken over by T&S Tobacco and finally swallowed up by Tesco I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.