Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

You Never Appreciate Something...

....Until It's Gone!

Today we've had no water. There was a burst somewhere further along the system and because we are on the top of the hill, we've had no water for most of the day.
Luckily we managed to fill a couple of pans and jugs before it went completely off.

It's true though, I didn't realise how much I took for granted, the fact that when I turned a tap on there'd be water coming out.

I couldn't do half the things I'd intended doing, including doing the laundry, washing up, washing the floors and both dogs, making as many cups of tea as I wanted, having a "n'ornange"... flushing the toilet and washing my hands!!

It reminded me even more about the people out there who don't have access to reliable, clean, safe drinking water. We really are very lucky.

The water did come back on later in the evening.

It was also nice to get a phone call from United Utilities to check that it'd come back on, then another call to check that it was still on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.