JackTheLad

By JackTheLad

Edinburgh Bridges #14 & #15 Wheatfield Rd.

These bridges at Westfield are extension of the rail track that was featured here here but they play some part of my early employment as an apprentice at Ferranti Ltd when they had the old McVitie factory on Robertson Avenue. My friend and I used to walk under these bridges every day to go to and from our lift (my friend’s dad) on Westfield Road. Even though it must some 40 years ago I remember the smell of the malt from the North British Distillery then walking down the path on to Westfield with a large Whisky bond on the west side and a chemical works on the east. I always had a feeling that the pathway was not a good place to be if there was an incident at either location. The chemical plant is still there but the warehouse is now a supermarket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.