M9

By M9

THE BRAVEST ONE!

All winter long, we've been tossing a few peanuts-in-the-shell onto the back steps for the squirrels. Until today, every time we opened the door (slowly), they’d scatter far and wide. We’d see them stop half way up a tree, watching us and obviously hearing the peanuts click on the steps as they fell. We hoped they’d eventually catch on that we were the source of their peanuts, but they just didn’t lighten up - UNTIL TODAY! This little guy is the bravest of the bunch – and he was awarded with many peanuts! He dared to stay on the steps when the door opened, and when the first couple peanuts landed, he scurried to pick one up. I continued to toss a few more around him, and he was brave enough to stay put while nibbling on the first – the first of many!

He also caught on to asking for more – so cute! His best “You got any more?” pose is on Flickr. (He wasn’t up to dealing with me and my camera though, so I had to get this shot from a nearby window.) I know, “Be careful what you wish for!” I hope we won’t be sorry we’re getting more ‘up close and personal’ with our squirrels! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.