antipodean

By antipodean

Tennis Fever

It's tennis time in Melbourne! Finally, a sport I enjoy watching...

Today Steph and I went to the Kooyong Classic tournament, which is a men's warm up tournament before the Australian Open starts next week. Our family always gets free tickets because some family member invested in the building of the stands years ago. I've been before but I was mega excited to go today because there was an exhibition match between two of my faves - Lleyton Hewitt and Andy Murray.

Steph and I got there for the first match and stuck it out until the end - a young Aussie guy won, which was cool - before heading off to get lunch (souvlaki, yum). When we went back to watch the next match we realised how hot it had gotten - there's just no shade there - so we quickly retreated back to the ice cream truck and sat and chatted for ages. We actually missed the third match because one of the guys got injured so it finished before we made it back to our seats. We decided to wait until the exhibition match because it was still so hot.

I'm so glad I got to see Murray and Hewitt play, they're both brilliant players at very different stages of their careers and I honestly wanted either of them to win. It was really close but Hewitt beat Murray 7-6 7-6 (seriously, so close!) - actually, we were all quite relieved it only went to two sets because we were so hot and sticky and gross. Steph and I left as soon as the last point was played to escape to the air conditioned car. I dropped her back in Fitzroy and met my parents for a cool drink and a chat to debrief about the rather crazy week I've had.

IT'S ANDY MURRAY! I just love the way everyone's looking at him in this photo - I managed to get the moment right before he served. I love it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.