GTs Moving Pictures

By gtmp

Gannet

OK... I didn't take this one, hands full! But I thought you'd like to see and hear the salty tale attached.

Amazing sad happy experience. I was towing a big fishing lure through the water and the rod went mental. I turned round and there was a big bird splashing around 200m away, where the lure should be. F*#k! I caught a bird! I cut the line. Chris and I managed, by stringing a rope between the inflatable and the boat to entangle the fishing line. Slowly and quietly I go the gannet aboard, the poor bugger was hooked through the webbing of both feet. After carefully flattening down the barbs with pliers I extracted the hook, leaving two small but slightly bloody holes. After a squawk and a good peck at me and Chris she steamed off. A few minutes later she took off and went on her way!

Looking like an albatross, the gannet is related to the pelican and lives around the UK coast and many other north atlantic maritime countries. I'm gently holding her beak to prevent a bight from her 5 inch dagger!

I was reminded of the rhyme of the ancient mariner. Thankfully I have no 'albatross' round my neck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.