SilverImages

By SilverImages

The Bridge

I have my wife Kim to thank for todays photo. As we were preparing to leave to go to Newport she suggested I take the camera and get some pics. The day started bright and sunny, clear blue skies and beautiful light. Fortunately I'd got my photo before lunch, by early afternoon it was wet and grey, with what seemed like an early "night-time" by 4pm.

The bridge overlooks Newports "new" railway station, which I was commissioned to photograph for the designers a couple of years ago. I'd spent several days around the station over a period of a couple of months, but never photographed this bridge.

It's a mass of steel plates riveted and bolted together, I've crossed it countless times and never really looked at it, never noticed how colourful it is. The morning sunlight picked out the mass of rivets binding the plates together, the colour contrasting with the blue sky backdrop. Built in the early 20th century I guess, another masterpiece of industrial engineering that goes un-noticed as I hurry on my way - until today.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.