Homeless in Glasgow


“What happened?” I said.
“My girl-friend threw me out,” he said.

He got up.
“I’ve gotta go. The polis are coming.”

I turn round. Two Glasgow police are marching towards us.

I drop a coin in his paper cup and walk away.

Suddenly I realise that’s why we see so few homeless people on the streets of Glasgow these days. Its now illegal to beg.
And I began to notice the number of police walking the city centre streets.

With the eyes of the world on Scotland this year (Commonwealth Games and the referendum) Glasgow is desperate to give a good image of itself to the world. So the homeless are moved on.

Thank you all for your concern over my broken camera. I took it back to Jessops in Glasgow today and the verdict is that it must be sent away for repairs. Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.