Plastic Shoe Photos

By suetastic

Sloe Vodka in the making!

I've started my Sloe Vodka today.

Normally I make Sloe Gin, have been doing it for about 5 years now every autumn. 2 years ago my Dad divulged the secret location of the much sought after Sloes! And that was also the first year I made Sloe Vodka ... it was delicious!

I was away last year just after the first frost (a very important time during which the Sloes must be harvested!) And my lovley Dad made the Gin for me!

This year, there were not so many Sloes about, Dad havested enough for me to make 1 bottle! Vodka it is!

To make this you will need:

Access to a supply of Sloes (I used about a pound of them today),
1 bottle of vodka (any variety will do, I used Glens, the exciting vodka)
6oz of sugar,

Slice the sloes,mix all the ingredients together in a 2 litre (or bigger) plastic bottle. You will now shakey shakey the bottle every day for the next 6 weeks, then remove the sloes from the alcohol, strain it through muslin or a coffee filter then leave for about another 6 weeks before drinking!

Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.