The Prickles And The Feather

I'm finding it hard to get back into the swing of getting up early for work. I do like the early mornings but I've been lazy during the holidays and sleeping in seemed to come easy without a little dog waking me up early to go out this year.

I have been going for a long walk before work and that seems to clear my head a bit and get me ready for the day! I saw lots of interesting things today too, but none rivalled this wonderful sight out on the patio this afternoon after work.

This feather was lightly hooked on some of the smaller prickles of my giant prickle bush (some kind of cactus) and it just looked amazing in the late afternoon sun. I think it may be a magpie feather, but not totally sure.

I did get the macro out later and took a lot of shots because the structure of the feather is really quite incredible, but I'll save that idea for another day.

The sad news today that over 50 houses were burnt to the ground in the bush fires makes me feel so sad for those who have lost all their possessions! Shocking and frightening for them to lose all their memories, photos and personal stuff, things that you could never replace! Heartbreaking!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.