S is for

School, Skype, Succeed and Slimy !!

Library duty tonight, 6.30-9pm, and for once it is almost a blessing because as soon as I have completed my Blip for the day I shall work on my dissertation - as I have done almost all day (finals have begun). At 3.30 I stopped because with colleagues, I conducted a Skype interview with a candidate who just might fit the bill, if not the shoes of our dear friend who told me, one week ago today, (sorry about the mystery Blip but he wanted it kept quiet until all significant colleagues knew directly from him) that he would not be signing a new contract having decided, with his family to return to the States in the summer, leaving us after seven years of wonderful collegial friendship. We were and are devastated that he is leaving our 'family' and no one can replace him, but after several really busy days and wonderful applicants, I am optimistic that we will find someone to succeed him.

The Skype interview was followed by a Dept Head's meeting and a quick turn around at home before heading to the library where I am now calm, warm and very, very quiet.... and alone. No students tonight!

Today's image is a page from one of the old, large Websters dictionaries (published in 1957) that adorn our old, large library opened at the appropriate page for DDW's January challenge for today .. 'slimy' !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.