samsticks

By samsticks

43 Degrees

Backblip

After a 15 hour day at work, I finally left the relative comfort of the aircon and, at 11:15pm, stepped outside into 32 degree heat. Melbourne made it up to 43 degrees C today, which is surely hot by anyone's standards!

I decided to take the slightly longer cycle home along Footscray road because I thought I'd have enough time to take a reasonable shot of the newly re-opened Melbourne Star ferris wheel, which is usually all lit up at night.

Not so tonight, the lights were off and noone was home.

Thankfully there was a pretty amazing lightning storm off in the horizon, so as I crossed the overpass I rested my camera on the concrete wall, ISO 200, Aperture stepped right down to get a long exposure. I opened the shutter and within 10 seconds had caputured my lightning. A artistic truck also drove through with about 5 seconds to spare, adding a bit of a light trail.

I then had to walk a bit of a way because the wind picked up and the dust made it impossibly dangerous to cycle. Arriving at home just after midnight, everyone was up and hot... Including Miles, who kept us up until the small hours. More of the same for tomorrow!!

Edit - shame about the slightly dirty lens. Sorry about that folks, but it's all I had for the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.