Munklebob

By Munklebob

It's all steam and no punk . . .

I often thought the strangeness of the building I work in would lend itself to some interesting photography. New visitors to the place often say things like "It must be wonderful to work here, it has so much history and character" to which we often mention things like the floods in rainy weather, the fact that it tries to bake us alive in summer and freeze us to death in winter. The lifts which appear to be possessed and occasionally trap one of one between floors for long periods of time. The fluctuating state of the hot water and the bits of the walls that fall off from time to time.
The fact of the matter is we have stopped seeing the curious and interesting bits of it and just consider it a general nuisance. We no longer see the huge triffid like plant that spans the entire main staircase, we walk past it every day. We don't see the curious steampunk bits of antiquated dials and levers that belong to an age gone by. There's some interesting stuff surrounding us every day and some day I must capture these fabulous things in beautiful black and white and not just on my phone. Truth is though when I'm not working I tend to get as far from the place as I possibly can as quickly as possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.