Dare Mighty Things

By dcomp

Send her Victoria's

A long day littered with awful traffic, populated by lovely people, awakened by curious decorative items, humbled by the kindness of strangers, cleansed by a car wash team, enlivened by short gym session and ended with the ritual Tuesday tidy up.

I have used the same garage to have various car repairs done repeatedly over the last couple of years until I bought my current whip. (I'm so 'street'.)

Now the car is serviced by Mercedes but I have every intention of using my local garage for the general wear and tear stuff. I like supporting local business over chains and multi-nationals wherever I can.

I recently defected from ATS for tyres to Dave around the corner not just because, astonishingly, he can do the rubber of choice cheaper than they but also because, in my time of need over new year when my wheel cracked, he helped me. He took the car in, took the wheel off, removed the tyre, stored my car securely while I got it fixed, then replaced it all and put it back together. How much did he want to so this? Nothing. Not a penny. His argument was he didn't have to use any parts. My argument was that his time and his willing was of more value. I forced him to accept a payment which, begrudgingly, he took.

Today, another car issue was resolved completely free and in 10 minutes after a much larger garage had told me there was about 6 hours labour involved.

Somewhere the message that kindness pays, has been lost. Profit over service. Price over priceless.

While waiting for the car today, I overheard a conversation between two mechanics. I wasn't listening to the detail but just heard one say to the other 'shall I send her Michelle's number' to which his colleague replied, 'no mate, send her Victoria's'.

This drew a smile to my face as I immediately thought of the national anthem and wanted to retort 'happy and glorious'... But wasn't sure if a) they would get it or b) it was funny.

I laughed. To myself, of course.

On my drive home from the gym each time, I pass the statue in my 14th blip and today she stood out purely because of the overhearing mentioned...

'No mate, send her Victoria's'.

Whatever is being sent of Victoria's and to whom is simply being met by this one with a 'we are not amused' expression.

Happy and glorious, my ass!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.