Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

The Laws Of Cake

A proverb that perplexes me: "you can't have your cake and eat it." Don't get me wrong, I understand what the saying's meant to convey - compromise is necessary, you can't have things all your own way - but as ways of expressing that sentiment go, it's really not the clearest. I've frequently had my own cake and eaten it. In fact, I'd go so far as to say that this is basically the standard procedure for anyone who enters the dynamic world of cake acquisition: first, you have a cake; then, you eat it. No one has ever stormed my house and prohibited me from eating my own cake; nor has any authority figure ever demanded that I seek out some other hapless cake-haver and wrench the offending sponge from their hands before they can scoff it themselves, like the abomination they are.

Please, come up with another saying for situations that require compromise. One that's actually logical. Is it too much to ask that proverbs should make sense? Or am I trying to have my own cake and eat it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.