Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

A Taste of Peru

I was getting restless this afternoon, and needed to step away from my little desk. So I loaded Lola Malu into the car, and off we went, heading first to the post office, then after a few other errands, finally arriving at our local sangucheria, Café Rumba, for a late lunch.

I've sampled a fairly broad spectrum of cuisines in my life, but today was my first experience with Peruvian cuisine, specifically, their sanguches, or sandwiches. While co-owner Marco was eating his lunch outside and visiting with Lola (who was eagerly stretching herself out the car window), co-owner Antonio was working in the kitchen, fixing me up the "special of the day", a linguica sanguche. I am not sure of all the ingredients that went into this delicious sandwich, other than the linguica, but it was cooked fresh and constructed right before my eyes along with a side of Peruvian roasted potatoes.

The verdict? Two thumbs up!

Interestingly, my favorite aspect of this sandwich was the remarkable texture of the delicious bread -- light, with a tender, crispy crust, yet soft and moist on the inside. Substantial enough to withstand its bulky contents, yet not overly dense, and easy to bite through effortlessly without mangling the sandwich.

In addition to the sandwiches (and there are many flavors to pick from) the restaurant itself is decorated with colorful paintings, giving you plenty of things to study while waiting for your food. Today's meal was delicious. I'll definitely be back for more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.