Phalaenopsis

What a grey day. Not cold though, just damp and drizzly. The garden centre was warm and bright and even better, they had 50% off orchids.

It is 23 years this week since Mum died, and I usually buy a flower of some sort to commemorate her life.This is the one I added to our collection. Isn't it beautiful?

Wrote this poem for her quite a few years ago now.

Mum

you are here today.
when I wake,
as I break my fast,
and now as I work
I can feel
your closeness,
so natural
I almost
didn’t notice,
as if
I’d been at yours
just yesterday.
it’s as if
you’d popped in
for a cuppa,
stayed to help out
with the chores
while I sit
watching
the computer screen
fingers tripping
over the keys.

you are here today
as if
fourteen years
have not passed
since you went away,
as if the you-shaped hole
has never been
and the space
in our lives
never needed
to be filled.
it’s as if
you reached out
and touched me
this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.