WorldLens

By worldlens

Another Way To Get Around

With some of the main roads still shut off for the protests, canal taxi boats are one of the best ways to get around. The guy you see standing on the edge of the boat collects money for tickets and ties off the boat at each pier as people are getting off and on. The tarp on the side is pulled up while the boat is going so that the filthy canal water doesn't splash the passengers.

I'm grateful that the protests are still nonviolent and just cause some disruption on the streets. Some protesters (you could tell by their shirts that said "Bangkok Shutdown January 2014" and their Thai flag hats or bandanas) were taking the canal boat while I was riding it today. I was very pleased to hear the leader of the group encouraging people to let the passengers off first and to not push their way onto the boat.

Just as I finally catch up with backbliping, I'm off again. Tomorrow I'll be heading with a group of Thais from my church to an orphanage on the Thai/Burma border. We'll be back after the weekend with lots of pictures. (I'm told the kids love taking pictures, and it's in the mountains...two of my favorite things!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.