Sparrowhawk eating its prey in Cheltenham

I had to go to Cheltenham this afternoon to visit my dentist. I parked a few hundred yards from the centre of this elegant town and put enough money in the meter fora little exploring time after my appointment. I checked out the latest Apple goodies in a shop then spotted a lovely secondhand Canon 100mm L series macro lens, which I picked up and examined. The price tag was still just too much for my sensible nature today.

The light was fading as I reached the well known main shopping parade and I stood taking a few pictures in the light rain, before deciding to treat myself to a cappuccino in the Cafe Rouge. I didn't have long before I needed to top up my parking metre, so after taking a few pictures inside the lovely warm cafe through the big glass doors onto the main parade, I heeded back.

i took a particular side street which I knew would be quiet and walked hurriedly. I then cut across the back of an old house which was converted to an office, but whose garden is open to the public. I just happened to look at the rear of the garden towards some shrubs and the high back wall when my eye spotted an unusual shape. I stopped and couldn't believe what I was seeing. It was a sparrowhawk looking straight at me and without fear. It suddenly shook its head up in the air and I realised it had an animal which it was in the process of killing. I had my camera round my neck still for some reason despite the darkening light and the light rain, so I gently raised it up to try taking a few pictures.

In fact the hawk just looked at me then proceeded to drop its head between it s legs and started ripping the flesh off a large bird, probably a pigeon. I had edged behind a car parked beside the garden but i soon came nearer and nearer to the bird and it just carried on, looking at me every so often and moving its body around to get a different purchase on its food.

In the end I just left it to its meal, and was so pleased to have had this chance to see such an amazing bird at such close quarters. I chose this particular shot as it isn't too gory, for blip purposes.

I have put some other pictures on my Flickr gallery, but a few of them are rather bloody and show meat and feathers in its mouth. Be warned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.