The Words of a Writer

By SophieLorraine

Red Lights

This week, I found out that to new songs, produced by one of my all-time favourite song writers, were released to the public. They were leaked completely out of the blue and although it's uncertain as to whether they'll eventually be officially released or if they'll be re-recorded, these two songs will hopefully feature on a brand new album from his latest band called Molly And The Zombies. My favourite of the two, and one I hope doesn't change, is titled 'Red Lights' and I just can't stop myself from humming along to it in my head.

Since a certain someone introduced me to Brian Fallon and his music a couple of years back, I simply can't get enough! Especially of Gaslight, with Mae, Blue Jeans and White T-Shirts, Backseat and many, many more.

Red Lights in particular is more reminiscent of The Gaslight Anthem's folksy, meaningful yet upbeat demeanour. I just can't get enough of that chorus! That acoustic base, coupled with those subtly soft background 'oohs' and that catchy beat, are enough to make the back of my neck feel tingly. And those thoughtful lyrics from Mr Fallon are nothing short of genius.

Red Lights is (for me at least) a reference to traffic lights and on my commute to work this morning, while indulging in my newly found music, I couldn't resist snapping a quick photo.

In any case, if someone stopped to tell me that they loved me at the Red Lights, it would be more than enough to keep my happily content...

'So yes I will take those,
And whatever else they give me.
If it stops the nightmares,
It probably won’t kill me.
And if I slow it down I’ll end up on one of my accusers knives,
So I only stop to tell her that I love her at the red lights.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.