middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Mountain Home

Today we drove and I slept. As I had spent the better part of the night vomiting or trying not to vomit I wasn't feeling my best, luckily for me we had an eight hour bus ride to Cusco. That might not sound lucky but it did allow for me to get in a lot of sleep with only a few interruptions from out highly enthusiastic and somewhat eccentric tour guide.

The stops mostly involved checking our various Inca ruins and hearing some of the history and customs of the Inca's. It was by no doubt fascinating but as I was in my 'gastro daze' it didn't take it all in as well as I might have, which was unfortunate. I did feel bad as I didn't want to insult Marietta (the eccentric tour guide) as to her it did seem I was falling asleep anytime she was talking, which I was. She was something else, I've never seen anyone be so incredibly intense and kind at the same time, and when she told us of the history her whole body got into the telling.

We eventually made it to Cusco, which is an incredibly beautiful city with plenty of interesting Inca foundations I'll tell you about tomorrow. We headed to a pizza place that also had some terrific beers. The guys tell me the pizza was great but as the gastro demon still had me in its claws it was less enjoyable for me...the beer was still excellent!

- Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.