Moments

By togrrrl

The Hands of Bighill Part Deux

Or, I can't believe I'm in Nova Scotia splitting wood!

After a fine walk on the trail through the property admiring the old man's beard and lichen growing on the spruce, the peach coloured tiny mushrooms growing out of the lichen on the ground, the moss, the blue sky and scudding clouds and the glowing golden birch leaves, we helped Terry split wood for the winter's heating.

Linda attacked me with a stump (ok I failed to pull my hand out of the way fast enough) but after I recovered, I helped throw the split wood onto the truck.

The splitter is an amazing machine that slowly splits wood using 25 tons of force. Much better than a hatchet!

After a long afternoon nap recovering from the wood splitting Linda made a yummy dinner of Gado Gado and fortified we went to the Gaelic Colours Festival after hous club. There we listened to amazing music -- fiddlers, whistlers, guitarists and drummers and left early at 2:30 AM.

Another wonderful day and night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.