Winged Creature

A big improvement in the weather today, sun and blue skies have returned.

I was down at Pacific Quay early this morning and had a look at the recently refurbished Bell's Bridge. I liked this view looking directly across the bridge to the Armadillo and the new Hydro Arena. I could not get the shot I wanted because the hotel was spoiling the symmetry, so decided through Photoshop to alter the landscape of Glasgow, by modifying the Armadillo and adding another Arena.

I love how it looks like a winged creature. I have taken some inspiration in this shot from the great Spanish architect, Santiago Calatrava who designed the beautiful Quadracci Pavilion for the Milwaukee Art Museum. Hope you like my creation.

The Bell's Bridge has just reopened after a £1.6m upgrade. The bridge over the Clyde was originally built in 1988 for the Garden Festival and links the SECC site to the south bank of the River Clyde.

This summer it will have a renewed importance because of the Commonwealth Games, as it will link the media centres at ­Pacific Quay on the south side of the river with the SECC and the new Hydro Arena.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.