Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Cat sausages and a tale of a washing machine

This small print of an etching by the Pembrokeshire artist, Julian Williams, is one of the first things that I see each day. It never fails to make me smile, although it must be said that Thomas our cat thinks it is in pretty bad taste.

Today, I have been in much need of some humour. We were expecting a new washing machine to be delivered, sometime between 7 in the morning and 2 in the afternoon. I was up before the sparrows in eager anticipation. Come 12 o'clock Mrs T set off to catch the bus into Aberdeen to see the ballet. The Stagecoach bus never arrived, yet again, and the washing machine had still to appear. Mrs T doesn't do city driving and so I had to drive her in. I rang the store who assured me that the delivery men would leave the machine in the garage if I wasn't in when they arrived. Got back at 1.30 to find a note saying that the delivery men had been, had gone, and had taken my machine back to the depot! Rang the depot who kindly agreed that they would reschedule the delivery but that the next available slot is a week into the future! How in the name of all that is good can it take a week to deliver something a distance of 10 miles?

I feel better for the rant!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.