Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Casting

I had a gig tonight on the "Lord of the Glens", a rather posh ship which comes into Gairloch during the summer season. I play the clarsach, guitar, sing songs & tell stories. I thoroughly enjoy these sessions, because usually the folks are very appreciative; it's a wee bit of a boost to the ego!
When I got off the boat tonight, there was Gregor, the son of a friend, catching mackerel off the pier. Gregor doesn't live here anymore, but is home staying with his dad. There were others trying to do the same, including a crew member (seen in the photo), and Gregor was the only one catching anything; the others did not look very pleased. Gregor's mum died last year; she was a colleague and friend, and I taught her clarsach.
She left me her beautiful Starfish harp, which I still call "Diana's harp". When Gregor saw me coming down the gangplank, he carried his mum's harp to the car, and I watched him fish for a while. I got the feeling that he was supremely happy being home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.