Wet

Sunday is the first day of the working week for me. I've been teaching in the Middle-East for 3 years and I still find it strange working on a Sunday.

Working life at the university is pretty shitty just now. The whole place is in such a complete mess that my efforts to introduce some organisation are having the same effect as an atheist at an Alpha course.

In addition to the soul-sapping mess I'm trying to sort out, Cairo is experiencing a mini heat-wave. With no air-con in the office or the classrooms, things quickly get a bit damp and uncomfortable. Factor in the desperately unmanageable class sizes I have at the moment and I almost lost the will to live today.

Almost.

There is a little light at the end of the tunnel in that this afternoon (during my spare time between lessons) I managed to organise five faculty timetables into one and convince my boss to have some shouty time with the chairman, the result of which has provided us with the promise of air-conditioning in three classrooms as well as desks and chairs and a couple of extra teachers to help reduce the class sizes, all by next week. Expect a blip of me pissing my pants next week if any of these things actually happen.

My hope is that everything will come together eventually and that this period of cackness will have been worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.