twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

House Warming

So I took on a flat with four walls, no carpets, not a bit of furniture.

6 weeks later, I had a bunch of friends over for a flat warming. The whole place was carpeted, painted (bar the woodwork in the bedroom), curtains (mostly). I think the only thing I need is to get some flooring for the kitchen.

So I cooked thin beetroot slices marinated in vinegar with grilled goat's cheese and rocket, with tuna and a cucumber relish / salsa, sauté baby new potatoes and pak choy. Dessert was a chocolate pear pudding with butterscotch sauce. All done on my new cooker / oven.

Cool drinks served from the newly acquired fridge. All sitting around my table on my new dining chairs.....

It was very life affirming to have friends come over and be bowled over by who quickly I'd turned the place into a stylish, cool family home.

So much so that around 1030, someone remarked that we were one down. TO be fair she has a history of locking herself in bathrooms and I feared the worst, but she felt so at home she sneaked into the bedroom and was fast asleep.

Clearly I have somewhere people feel at ease.... Is that a good thing? I hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.