Should have been a white dove...

...with an olive branch in its beak, instead of a seagull. But doves and olive trees are in short supply at Ferry Meadows!

I'm not sure whether Rosie and I timed our walk very badly or perfectly! It was sunny when we left home, but as we arrived at Ferry Meadows a dark and menacing cloud welled up from the western horizon. I could see rain falling from the edge, but hoped that it might miss us. Unfortunately we were right in its trajectory and got pretty wet, with the added bonus of hailstones for a short while. But when the sun came out - wow! There was the most beautiful double rainbow which had to be photographed, even though it was still raining (as you can see if you look in large) and I hate getting the camera wet.

And then, when we were nearly back at the car, a red kite flew low over us, and I was able to get some good shots of it. I'd seen a pair in the distance when we arrived, and met a friend who's said she's fairly sure they're eyeing up a local nest site. They certainly seemed to be patrolling the woods along the river. How exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.