Street Corner Society

By StCornerSociety

Driven to drink

Today my ancient faithful car, that's never been in the garage apart from servicing, broke down in spectacular fashion.

It had been screeching a bit the last few days, and seemed to be struggling to get up hills. This morning, I was going up one of the steepest and it completely died. Beeping, shouting, swearing, fingers. The works. However, two handsome men appeared out of nowhere and pushed me around the corner to a parking bay. Karmic love to them. I'd forgotten my mobile so had to nip into a local business and ask to use their 'phone. And then my local garage came to the rescue.

Luckily, there was a café over the road. I supped on a soya latte and nibbled on a piece of ginger bread to cushion the blow, while I awaited rescue.

It's going to cost almost as much as the car is worth to put right. Contemplated binning it completely - but it's needed for work and some fun times too - so I'll just have to stump up.

A well deserved glass of wine coming up!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.