PandaPics

By pandammonium

Amstel from…where?

The other day, we were watching Pointless on iPlayer. One of the questions was to name the capital city that the given river ran through. One of the rivers was the Amstel. I didn't know it was a river, but I did know it was a beer. I wasn't the only one.

One of the contestants reasoned that Amstel was a beer; the Belgians like beer; therefore the answer was Brussels.

I thought it might be Amsterdam, just because the first few letters are the same. The beer theory threw me a little, because I'm not familiar with any Dutch beers. Or so I thought.

It turns out Amsterdam is named after the river, and the beer, also named after the river, is indeed from Amsterdam, as shown in the picture.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.