EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Coba

Not my best day. Had booked a tour to an archeological site of Mayan temples, the place is called Coba, about 2000 buildings on 70 skm. The main temple is about 46 Meters high and for many is the attraction to climb to the top. ( an undertaking I wouldn't even think of with all the joints that don't work well)
I was in the bus at 8 am, by 10 we were still on the road after picking up 11 other customers of the tour. By 10.45 we started the 2 km walk to the main temple, saw two 'soccerfields' where they played in the old days to honor the Gods. The Winner (!) was afterwards pierced on tongue, penis and other places before being slowly killed. He regarded this ritual killing as an honor....(I was told)
Half an hour later we sat in a circle to listen to a sales talk of the guide, lunch was over by 1.30 pm And there were still two more places to go: a Mayan village (whatever that may be today) where another sales effort waited for us, and a swim in a Cenote, which is a subterranean water reservoir. So, another 4 hours of drive lay ahead of me.
As today is my birthday and I wanted to have dinner tonight at a reasonable time, I decided to take a taxi back to the hotel, for the same price as the tour price was.

Am sitting in the bar with a cocktail now( must be 5 o'clock somewhere) and am winding down! Was lucky and had a short phone call with my daughter before she had to go to bed. Oh these time differences!

Thank you all for commenting on the yesterday's picture. Some said that the sun looked rather cross, and I agree to that. If the God of the Sun needed all these sacrifices, it must have been a cruel and unhappy one. So different from the symbolic of moon and sun in our culture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.