Fibreandfotos

By Fibreandfotos

Embellishment

I recently discovered that my favorite cashmere sweater has become the victim of a moth or some other destructive pest. It is a beautiful shade of light taupe brown and covered with literally thousands of sparkling sequins, faceted buttons, tiny metal charms, and loads of exquisite bullion stitches around the neckline and cuffs.

My daughter and I share a favorite pastime of shopping at thrift shops, and this sweater was a special find on one of our excursions in the Belmont Shore area of Long Beach. At $38, it was a little pricey for a thrift store. I splurged because it was cashmere, and because it reflected my love of fiber and texture. Since the holes make it unwearable, I plan to salvage the buttons, charms, and sequins to add to another item as embellishment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.