Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Running Boy

Odd weather today. Went out for a run under clear blue sky. Then started the rain, which looked set for the day, so we took the kids Auckland-wards for inside entertainment pursuits. Exeunt rain, clouds, and drear chill; enter bright sun and warmth.

Ah well.

A while after we got back to Snell's Beach I took my lad out for a walk, hoping for some nice pics at the top of Highfield Reserve. Well. He ran. A total of about 2km or so on his little 6 year old legs, with still a good strong kick left at the end. Here's an example of his lovely form.

Large here.

At one point he asked me: "am I one of the best runners in the world?" I told him he was certainly very good indeed (I didn't go into the fact that simply by virtue of running at all he's one of the best runners in the Western world...) and he just needed to not stop running; as he runs more, and trains properly, he'll definitely be excellent - whereupon he said he was training for next year's school athletics: "I'm sure I'll get a blue ribbon that says '1st'".

I love the confidence - which I'd say is rather justified; he runs beautifully. Two more of him, and some others, in my Snell's Beach set on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.