twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Sobering

I had the boys last night and have them today.

The photo I took was as I walked home from school with the guys; all the while is the incessant drone of two helicopters circling, endlessly, restlessly searching for any signs of Mikaeel Kular. You can't see the helicopters over the houses, but they are there. An omnipresent soundtrack to a very real horror movie.

I have a three year old boy, he lives about a mile from Mikaeel's home; I can't tell you the dread I have that this is not going to end well, the fact that I kept my boys within ten yards all the way home where normally 200 yards is more than fine.

All very irrational, but all far too close to home.

I checked, checked, checked the boys last night as the slept. I lost count after about 8 times.

This photo more than any other photo I will look back at and feel a mess of emotions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.